Struggling [to be] a[n] artist











{6 February 2011}   CAT Rigging

Rigging is a very difficult thing for me. Setting up the bones so they’ll move in the correct way, to skinning the character. It’s a difficult process that often makes me want to cry (and often does). The places I seem to have the hardest time is with the shoulder area, and with this latest one, the elbows. The model is much high poly than the last model I had done, and certainly the reason why I’m having issues with the elbow.

In my attempt to find some sort of rigging solution, CAT was brought to my attention. It is included in the 3ds Max 2011 program. It reminds me of puppet shop from Lumonix (which I had gotten but not used very much). After many terrible sites that didn’t tell me much, I found these videos. I could only find the first part there, but the rest of them are here. I don’t know if this will help with my skinning issue, (most likely not) but it certainly does help if someone needs to make some custom rigs.

The next thing I need to figure out how the animation layering works, as well as weight painting. Weight painting in XSI seemed pretty easy (since I never used the program I don’t really know, but I am considering going over to that since  3ds Max has that stupid flow chart now too).

(I hate to admit) but the most useful thing I learned from the videos was to use twist bones in the arm. There is still so much more to learn. I want to go back to school.

—-edit/update 1—-

More Max tutorials here with the CAT tutorials part 1 part 2 part 3

Autodesk CAT help thing

 

 

 

 



Leave a Reply

et cetera
